Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

November 1, 2013

Letter to the Editor-Bill McCroskey

Knoxville — To the Editor: 

Tuesday, Nov. 5, the citizens of Knoxville will elect two members and a mayor to the Knoxville City Council.

I have had the opportunity of knowing Knoxville City Council candidate Mike Roberts for over 25 years.

Mike is a native of Knoxville and went to Knoxville schools and graduated from KHS with many of us or with our children and his parents (Wayne and Linda) still live just south of Knoxville.

Mike knows and understands that spending our tax dollars wisely (so to keep our property taxes as low as possible) should be a priority in these difficult times as our local residents recover from a lingering recession that has caused financial hardships for many of us.

Knoxville has a great blend of local retail, manufacturing and tourism businesses with huge nationally known events that must be nurtured to keep Knoxville both vibrant and progressive, yet Mike understands to look at these on a regional basis not exclusively to Knoxville, as a rising tide lifts all boats.

As concerned citizens and voters of Knoxville we need to address the small but steady erosion of Knoxville's population while Iowa as a whole shows a small but steady increase. Mike will work hard to stem these losses.

Mike will protect those things that we all value yet will offer new and exciting ideas that can improve Knoxville for both citizens and visitors alike making existing residents to want to stay or visitors to relocate in Knoxville other than the major metropolitan area up Highway  5.

Mike Roberts promises he will carefully study even the tiniest project and expenditure that is brought before the City Council before voting to spend our hard earned tax dollars on any request.

Mike will keep the City of  Knoxville moving forward by using both financial responsibility, common sense with small town values. 

Please join me in supporting Mike Roberts for Knoxville City Council this coming Tuesday, Nov. 5. 

Bill McCroskey

Knoxville

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Obama Advisor Skips House Hearing Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results