Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

April 26, 2013

The Heartsill Report

Iowa’s New Standard for “Slow”

Knoxville —

We are all familiar with the phrase: “Slow as molasses in January”.  However, given the Iowa Senate’s lethargic action on Education Reform that oft quoted expression may soon be replaced.

The debate on Education Reform continues in the Iowa Legislature, but at a very slow pace.  This is just as frustrating as it is unfortunate for our public school administrators who have been pleading with the Legislature, early on in the session, to move quickly on an Education Reform package that provides adequate funding for our public schools.

This would be a good time to provide a quick recap of how this legislation has moved.

Back on Feb. 20, the House passed House File 215 sending it on to the Senate.  The bill sat idle in the Senate for 42 days until it passed out of committee on April 2.  Fortunately, it only took one more day to reach the Senate Floor and was voted out on April 3.

The House promptly responded on April 4 by choosing not to concur with the Senate’s complete rewrite of the original bill, which sent House File 215 to conference committee.  Once the conferees were appointed and the committee was established, it took less than a week (April 10) for the House to offer a compromise solution that attempted to satisfy the priorities of both chambers.

The House compromise met the Senate’s allowable growth numbers offering 2 percent plus a 2 percent one-time payment in Fiscal Year 2014 and 4 percent in Fiscal Year 2015.  In return, the House asked the Senate to accept the House’s policy language, language which had the support of 45 groups interested in education, including nearly every major education association.

The Senate spent the following week bashing the House proposal before finally offering a counter proposal on April 18 at 11 a.m.  It accepted the House’s idea on allowable growth but required the House to make a $30 million per year block grant permanent and accept all of the Senate’s language on the leadership ladder plan, tossing out all the House’s provisions protecting parental choice in education.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: MD Church Built in 1773 Ravaged by Fire Flight to Tel Aviv From US Diverted to Paris
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results