Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 6, 2013

Support DMACC Levy 4

Knoxville — Steve I am writing to you to take exception to your House of Wood Article on the Des Moines Area Community College.

Consider that nearly 2,200 students from Marion County are currently attending DMACC. Some are high school students taking college-level classes, some are enrolling in noncredit courses and 568 Marion County students are earning a DMACC degree.

DMACC does have a full time Counselor here and ongoing classes that are currently being held at the High School to prepare our young people for College, In Knoxville alone, 577 residents are taking classes through DMACC. That includes 335 credit and 242 non-credit students.

Many families these days can’t afford a university education. DMACC makes a college education affordable for everyone by providing high quality instruction at the lowest cost to students, minimizing student debt. Your Yes Vote is crucial to the College. DMACC educates and trains skilled workers that our companies and communities depend upon. A vast majority of DMACC graduates stay and work in Central Iowa.

For only a few dollars a month for the average homeowner, DMACC uses these levies to fund equipment, computers, library books and either make renovations to aging facilities or new construction. The dollars are invested back into local businesses.

Without these funds, DMACC would be forced to raise tuition, cut programs and reduce capacity to educate and train the workers our businesses need. It’s also a continuation of current levies, NOT an increase or new tax, so your property taxes won’t go up.

Your votes are always important and next Tuesday you will have an opportunity to help your neighbors and Marion County businesses by voting Yes for two DMACC levies on the ballot. 

Many of us in Marion County have supported the DMACC levies in the past and I encourage you to go to the polls again on Tuesday and Vote Yes. It’s a vote that will do a lot of good throughout Central Iowa.

Don Zoutte

Knoxville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Visitors Feel Part of the Pack at Wolf Preserve 3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Suing Obama: GOP-led House Gives the Go-ahead Obama: 'Blood of Africa Runs Through My Veins' Amid Drought, UCLA Sees Only Water Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Air Force: Stowaway Triggers Security Review Minnesota Fire Engulfs Home, Two Garages Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Officials Unsure of UCLA Flood Repair Date At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results