Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

October 18, 2013

In the House of Wood

What the cool kids do

Knoxville —

Following this latest showdown/crisis/debacle, whatever you want to call it, in Washington, it has become apparent to me that government is one big high school.
 
Barack Obama, Harry Reid and the rest of the liberals (including many so-called Republicans) are like the “in” crowd. John Boehner, Mitch McConnell and other Republicans are the wishy-washy, unhip kids who want to be accepted into the popular clique. 
 
While Boehner and McConnell want to be accepted by the popular kids, they are already a part of a group that has already accepted them. The Tea Party/conservative factions in the House and Senate are like Boehner and McConnell’s friends from elementary school. They all used to play together, but now they’re ashamed of their past and want to move on. In short, they believe they are too good for their old elementary school buddies now. 
 
But what Boehner and McConnell don’t realize is that they are being manipulated by the clique. They will never truly be accepted within that group, nor recognized as a full-fledged member. Even if they do get to join the club, Boehner and McConnell will have to continually prove themselves to the clique and fight off onslaughts of outlandish allegations and hazing. 
 
If Boehner and McConnell were not seeking acceptance by the liberals, why else would they give in to people who have called them “hostage takers” or otherwise associated violent, hateful imagery with them and their party? 
 
But what Boehner and McConnell fail to realize is that sometimes you don’t want to be a part of the clique.
 
The clique does a lot of stupid things, counter to what everyone knows is the right thing to do. 
The liberals’ reckless spending, disregard for individual sovereignty and freedom can be likened to the high school group that chooses to go out drinking and vandalizing the town on a Friday night. The Tea Party is like the group that just wants to enjoy some pizza and movies. Their opposition to the peer pressure presented by the liberals, to continue to drown this country in debt and continue down the path of destruction makes them seem uncool, when in reality they are doing what is best for our future. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. Maine Police Investigate Deaths of Family of 5 UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage US Evacuates Embassy in Libya Amid Clashes Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results