Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

August 22, 2013

In the House of Wood

That's why it's there

(Continued)

Knoxville —

These people break laws. That’s why they are criminals. They do not care. 

Gun laws should be intended to make it easier for the law-abiding to have as many guns and as much ammunition as they want. It’s called freedom with responsibility and it seems like that’s what was intended by the Constitutional amendment. You can keep and bear arms, but at the same time, it’s also your responsibility to defend yourself and others if necessary. 

Not to knock law enforcement or the military, but there will be those times when they cannot be present to protect you. Could the Maudleys have called the cops after Long disabled their phones? Even if they had been able to call, it will still take time for cops to arrive. Once on scene, what would have stopped Long from taking the Maudleys out before he was taken down?

I continue to be astonished by the Liberals’ flawed ideology that more laws and restrictions on gun access will somehow prevent tragedies. It is my opinion that “control” in “gun control” is part of their overall philosophy that they, or government should micromanage every aspect of Americans’ lives. 

The fact remains that you cannot control everything. The freedoms that America was founded on give everyone the best shot to not only reach their potential, but to survive in this unpredictable world. 

Earlier this week, I’m sure you heard about a young, Australian baseball player being shot in the back of the head by some “bored” teenagers. Do you think that if they didn’t have a gun, they would not have found some other weapon or means to kill the ballplayer? 

Evil exists in the world. The Founding Fathers recognized this, and it was further demonstrated by AFSCME President Danny Homan, who, within 90 minutes of a press conference to explain what had happened in Bedford, chose to use this incident to attack the Branstad Administration and further his union’s political agenda. Some will say that is what I am doing here. You can think that, but to me, I’m defending our Constitution and our homes. That is what Jerome did and what the founders of this country wanted us to have the freedom to do. 

Take care of yourself and thank you for reading. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Visitors Feel Part of the Pack at Wolf Preserve 3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Suing Obama: GOP-led House Gives the Go-ahead Obama: 'Blood of Africa Runs Through My Veins' Amid Drought, UCLA Sees Only Water Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Air Force: Stowaway Triggers Security Review Minnesota Fire Engulfs Home, Two Garages Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Officials Unsure of UCLA Flood Repair Date At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results