Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

September 6, 2013

Support DMACC Levy 2

Knoxville — To the Editor:

Next Tuesday you have the opportunity to vote yes to continue the two levies that help support Des Moines Area Community College.  These levies are existing levies that total 26.5 cents per $1,000 of assessed value.  It will not raise taxes. 

DMACC serves central Iowa, not just Des Moines or Ankeny.  High school students at Marion County high schools take both online and face to face classes through DMACC.  It is possible for high school students to complete most of their first year of college classes while still in high school.  So far, my daughters have taken pre-calculus and calculus at Knoxville High School.  My son is currently taking pre-calculus. Those classes are taught by a high school teacher employed at KHS and certified by DMACC.  The girls are also taking online classes in developmental psychology and introduction to literature as part of their high school classes this year.  DMACC works with area high schools to meet students’ educational needs that are beyond what the local school can offer.  

DMACC also has a history of providing college classes in the local community. They offer several night and online classes for those students who cannot or do not wish to drive to Newton, Ankeny, Urban, West, Boone, or Carroll campuses.  Many young people from Marion County take DMACC classes either online or at one of the campuses after graduating high school.  DMACC is a way for the non-traditional student to go back to school, go to college for the first time, learn new skills, or earn certifications for employment.  For example, DMACC-Newton trains welders in cooperation with Vermeer Manufacturing in Pella. Those trained welders then enter the workforce, many with Vermeer. Nursing students do clinical rotations at Pella Regional Hospital every year and several DMACC nursing graduates now work at Pella Regional taking care of Marion County residents.  DMACC’s nursing program has the highest NCLEX (nursing licensure exam) pass rate in the state.  Those nurses and welders are part of the Marion County work force that lives, works and spends money in Marion County.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel David Perdue Wins Georgia GOP Senate Runoff 98-Year-Old Woman Left in Parked Truck Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Raw: MD Church Built in 1773 Ravaged by Fire Flight to Tel Aviv From US Diverted to Paris AP Review: Amazon Fire Adds Spark to Smartphones Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Raw: Massive Fire Burns in North Dakota Town Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results