Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Breaking News

Opinion

October 3, 2013

In the House of Wood

Get out of the ditches

The United States government has shut down, but yet, the sun came up, the seas still roared and Social Security checks were still issued.

I’m sure some of you will think that I will take advantage of this opportunity to beat up on the Democrats, as the Democrat-led Senate failed to pass a budget for several years, and this time around, failed to approve a spending bill from the Republican-led House. However, that Republican-led House also failed to negotiate and I truly believe that both parties are at fault for this most recent debacle.

Mike Helle was once a driver’s ed instructor. He said that when his students went too far to the left or right, they would end up in the ditches. Both parties in Washington have gone so far to their respective viewpoints, and failed to meet in the middle, on the road of leadership and success, and put America in the ditch.

The conservative in me says that the government is better off in shutdown mode, with only “essential” employees working. If someone is receiving a federal paycheck, who is not “essential,” then why does their position even exist?

Then I went to visit the Corps at Lake Red Rock and remember the good programs and recreational opportunities available there. All of these things bring money into Marion County and the entire area. That money might be missed if this shutdown is prolonged.

It continues to anger me that we, as a nation, continue to send children back to Washington, D.C. Or, at least, these children get elected to the leadership posts that dictate what the rest of our representatives do. Compromise is not an ugly word, and I think more of it needs to be done on both sides. I believe that the Republicans have given up a lot more of what that party stands for to compromise with the Democrats than vice versa. It seems as though the Democrats can get away with anything they want, with most of the media in their pocket.

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Bashtag: NYPD Twitter Campaign Backfires Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Air Force: $4.2B Saved From Grounding A-10s Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Raw: MN Lakes Still Frozen Before Fishing Opener
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should more time and money be invested in Knoxville's City Parks?

Yes
No
     View Results