Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 3, 2013

Another View

Leaving the Old West

Knoxville —  

Some of us old timers remember the “Old West” – John Wayne to the rescue, shooting all the bad guys in sight.  We know that habit has ridden right into 2013 with us anytime we notice children’s video games or watch the movie previews.  We’re encouraged to shoot everyone in sight.  “Hi Ho, Silver, shoot ‘em dead” must still be the theme.

The myth of the old west reappears with each new massacre in our schools, theaters, or public squares.  And until another Newtown happens, we go back to sleep and forget how we behave as a nation.  Here’s a quick look at ourselves – by comparison.    Last year handguns killed

48 people in Japan

8 in Great Britain

58 in Israel, and

10,728 in the United States of America

Why are we so different?  We’re not basically more violent than other countries.  They also have untreated mentally ill people.  They also have angry wives and husbands tempted to kill each other.  The difference?  They don’t have three million guns at hand like we do!   One Connecticut mother is now dead because her mentally troubled son could easily take one of her guns, kill her, and go forth to murder 25 more.  

Many other countries have had mass killings, but most respond intelligently.  In Australia, after one rampage killed 35 people, they instituted protective gun measures like requiring a character witness for a would-be gun buyer.  Australians still enjoy hunting and self protection – but no more mass killings (firearm homicides dropped 59%).

Publicity after the Connecticut massacre tells us what we’re up against:  the NRA (National Rifle Assoc.) is not a simple association of gun owners.  No, it’s closely partnered with gun manufacturers (who supply money), and those companies in turn are often owned by equity funds controlled by Wall Street titans.  The 223 Bushmaster semiautomatic that was used for the mass murder in Newtown was manufactured by the Freedom Group, a gun arsenal controlled by Cerberus Capital Management.  So Wall Street won’t be joining gun safety advocates for a while. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

  • Slices of Life: Things we should do more often By Jill Pertler Live. Love. Laugh. Stop and smell the roses. See the glass as half full. Shoot for the moon. There are the familiar (cliché) activities we know we should engage in more often. But, for those of us not wanting to be cliché, there are

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor-Bravo To the Editor: I'd like to take a moment and say, "Bravo!" to Charlotte Shivvers for her insightful column of February 14, "Another View - Breaking Bad in Iowa." Speaking truth to power happens rarely these days and when it does, it's cause for celeb

    February 27, 2014

  • Frankford mug Another Log on the Fire: Highs and Lows By Phillip Frankford I've heard it said that the mark of a good story teller is the ability to take the listener or reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. He or she will abruptly lead the way from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows in a

    February 27, 2014 1 Photo

Features
AP Video
Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Obama: 8 Million Healthcare Signups Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results