Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

January 3, 2013

Another View

Leaving the Old West

Knoxville —  

Some of us old timers remember the “Old West” – John Wayne to the rescue, shooting all the bad guys in sight.  We know that habit has ridden right into 2013 with us anytime we notice children’s video games or watch the movie previews.  We’re encouraged to shoot everyone in sight.  “Hi Ho, Silver, shoot ‘em dead” must still be the theme.

The myth of the old west reappears with each new massacre in our schools, theaters, or public squares.  And until another Newtown happens, we go back to sleep and forget how we behave as a nation.  Here’s a quick look at ourselves – by comparison.    Last year handguns killed

48 people in Japan

8 in Great Britain

58 in Israel, and

10,728 in the United States of America

Why are we so different?  We’re not basically more violent than other countries.  They also have untreated mentally ill people.  They also have angry wives and husbands tempted to kill each other.  The difference?  They don’t have three million guns at hand like we do!   One Connecticut mother is now dead because her mentally troubled son could easily take one of her guns, kill her, and go forth to murder 25 more.  

Many other countries have had mass killings, but most respond intelligently.  In Australia, after one rampage killed 35 people, they instituted protective gun measures like requiring a character witness for a would-be gun buyer.  Australians still enjoy hunting and self protection – but no more mass killings (firearm homicides dropped 59%).

Publicity after the Connecticut massacre tells us what we’re up against:  the NRA (National Rifle Assoc.) is not a simple association of gun owners.  No, it’s closely partnered with gun manufacturers (who supply money), and those companies in turn are often owned by equity funds controlled by Wall Street titans.  The 223 Bushmaster semiautomatic that was used for the mass murder in Newtown was manufactured by the Freedom Group, a gun arsenal controlled by Cerberus Capital Management.  So Wall Street won’t be joining gun safety advocates for a while. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Biden Talks Economy and Civil Rights Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results