Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

February 7, 2013

In the House of Wood

The case against Medicaid

(Continued)

Knoxville —

Fifth of all, the entire argument that this will magically keep people from being denied care, is flawed. No one in an emergency room is turned away because of an inability to pay. There are laws against that already. I might be a dreamer, but I don't believe there's a doctor, nurse or any medical professional who would tell someone, in urgent need of care, to buzz off even if that professional may not get paid. Exercising discretion in whom you treat, when you treat and how you treat those in non-emergency situations just makes sense. 

Doctors aren't stupid. They want to look out for themselves, to repay those MASSIVE debts they accumulated to get into the position they are in. If somebody can't pay, or if the doctor won't be properly reimbursed by a poorly run government, the doctor has the right to dedicate her or his time to people who will make payment. Why do you think so many offices already refuse Medicaid patients?

I realize, as my dear friend Charlotte points out, that some other state will just take the money we refuse. I guess principles no longer matter, we should just all keep our hands out and get our share, regardless of the true costs. 

I realize, too, that those of us who pay health insurance are already paying for the uninsured. We're also the ones who foot the bill for Medicaid patients. 

Until everyone kicks in something to the kitty, and not just the 50 percent of us who pay taxes, but  EVERYONE - even the 8.75 million people who have left the work force in the past four years - there should be no further discussion of any kind of federal spending expansion. 

The bottom line is that Branstad is absolutely right not to trust the federal government to live up to its promise. These are the same people who are wasting their time complaining about having too many illegal immigrants in the country, even though many of them are the ones who decide how to fund and enforce the immigration laws the immigrants broke. There are 11 million illegal immigrants in the country now? Why didn't you address the issue when there were maybe 2 or 3 million? 

You see, it's this kind of idiocy and corruption we're dealing with in the federal government. Giving the federal government more power, authority and control over any aspect of our lives is an invitation to further misery and poorer service at a higher cost. Stick to your guns, Terry. 

Take care of yourself and thank you for reading. 

 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View

    Last week on TV – remember?  Pictures of the D-Day landing when Allied troops waded through cold waves, June 6, 1944, to face Nazi guns and land on the beaches of Normandy, France.  

    June 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • In the House of Wood

    I sometimes worry about what little regard is shown for human life these days. 

    June 18, 2014

  • Heisman winner's legacy wasn't about football
    If you've heard of Nile Kinnick, you’ve never forgotten his story. If you haven't, it’s a relatively short one with a sad ending.
     

    June 5, 2014

  • The Rules of the Road By Jill Pertler I do not consider myself an excellent driver. I am good, or maybe just okay - around a B-minus to a C-plus if I were giving out grades. I am not great at maneuvering into tight parking spaces or knowing when it is my turn at a four-wa

    March 21, 2014

  • Steve mug Creativity rules! I've noticed as a married man that there are times in our marriages when it is just nice to be right. Take for instance Monday night. By the time I got home from the council meeting, I was pretty hungry. I didn't grab anything to eat before my evenin

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Frankford mug Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome By Phillip Frankford Acute Temporary Comfort Rejection Syndrome

    March 21, 2014 2 Photos

  • Shivvers pic 21st century overwhelm, beginning with shampoo I was in a hurry and needed only one more item at the grocery store. Shampoo. I wanted shampoo to wash my hair. But I found a hazard course - and couldn't remember how I got through the last time. What should I do? Would it be simple "anti-itch liqui

    March 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Next time ... To the Editor: While surfing my Facebook page, I came across this message: "I Shall Continue To Do What I think Is Right Whether Anybody Likes It Or Not." -Harry S. Truman. After reading this quote, I decided to tell my experience. I was walking to m

    March 21, 2014

  • Protecting Iowa's children A topic that most Iowans prefer not to acknowledge nor discuss is human trafficking. However, it is a serious matter in our society that we can no longer afford to ignore. With the I-80 and I-35 corridors that crisscross our state - and the I-29 corr

    March 6, 2014

  • Letter: Disagrees with Shivvers To the Editor: I read, with interest, Ms. Shivvers' comments in her opinion piece "Another View-Breaking Bad in Iowa" in the Feb. 14, 2014, edition of the Knoxville Journal-Express. It is the first time I have heard today's agriculture compared to th

    March 6, 2014

Features
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage US Evacuates Embassy in Libya Amid Clashes Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Obama Asks Central American Leaders for Help Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Obama Advisor Skips House Hearing Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results