Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

Opinion
  • Constitutional silence does not necessarily justify federal action Recently President Obama has spoken several times about his intention to use "executive orders" to bypass Congress and pursue things he wants accomplished. In addition to showing a certain contempt for representative self-government (Congress is elec

    February 6, 2014

  • Just how low will we go? We've sunk to a new low. It's a fashion faux pas of the dire, denim variety. I'm referring to jeans - waistbands in particular. Remember when pants used to sit at your waist, not three inches below? Now, we wear low-rise, which is designer secret cod

    February 6, 2014

  • Steve Mug Adventures in Marriage Every time I try to ride with my wife in her truck presents a new adventure. I never know what I will have to remove from the passenger seat to make room for myself. My lady, Marcy, drives a Chevy extended cab. It could hold up to four people, but mo

    February 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Slices of Life

    Go green! Reduce, reuse, recycle! Be kind to Mother Earth. Protect our planet. The taglines promoting ecologically correct behaviors are as vast as our earnest plans to follow them. We want to do what's right, even if it takes a little more effort, s

    January 23, 2014

  • Steve photo Traditions There's a tradition my niece, Brittney, and I have, and that tradition is watching stupid movies together. We've done this for as long as I can remember. We laugh our tails off at these movies. Tuesday night, we ventured out to watch "Anchorman 2" wi

    January 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Charlotte mug Resolution for the New Year? Before our energy for New Year's Resolutions is totally depleted, how about the U.S. Congress resolving something simple like WELL PAID WORK FOR ALL? There might not be such need for the Emergency Unemployment Compensation, now being debated in Washi

    January 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Slices of Life: Sick days (and nights) I was sick last week. It felt like a long and miserable 12 days - and that was just Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I'm not good at being sick. Thankfully, I don't get much practice. I'm one of those robust and healthy types. I like to joke that I'm t

    January 9, 2014

  • Thank you Thank you To the Editor: In recent weeks, I have had contact with these three individuals : Ms Janet Ritchie, Director of the Marion County Historical Society Ms, Kathleen Smith, Curator of the Marion County Historical Museum Ms. Roslin Thompson, Di

    January 9, 2014

  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View - “Our Better Angels”

    Sometimes it’s hard to believe in those “better angels” we’re told we have inside us.

    December 26, 2013 1 Photo

  • Movie Review: Captain Phillips
    One of the films that has already had wide release, for which producers are seeking awards, is “Captain Phillips.” 
    While “Captain Phillips” tells the harrowing story of the 2009 pirate abduction of Captain Richard Phillips, it's not a great movie. Tom Hanks plays the title character very well, but again, he's Tom Hanks. We know the man is talented and can carry a movie. 

    December 26, 2013

Features
AP Video
Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Crowds Rally at '420' Celebration in Denver Marathoners Celebrate Easter With Tradition Raw: Obamas Attend Easter Service Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results