Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

Opinion
  • Charlotte mug Resolution for the New Year? Before our energy for New Year's Resolutions is totally depleted, how about the U.S. Congress resolving something simple like WELL PAID WORK FOR ALL? There might not be such need for the Emergency Unemployment Compensation, now being debated in Washi

    January 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Slices of Life: Sick days (and nights) I was sick last week. It felt like a long and miserable 12 days - and that was just Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I'm not good at being sick. Thankfully, I don't get much practice. I'm one of those robust and healthy types. I like to joke that I'm t

    January 9, 2014

  • Thank you Thank you To the Editor: In recent weeks, I have had contact with these three individuals : Ms Janet Ritchie, Director of the Marion County Historical Society Ms, Kathleen Smith, Curator of the Marion County Historical Museum Ms. Roslin Thompson, Di

    January 9, 2014

  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View - “Our Better Angels”

    Sometimes it’s hard to believe in those “better angels” we’re told we have inside us.

    December 26, 2013 1 Photo

  • Movie Review: Captain Phillips
    One of the films that has already had wide release, for which producers are seeking awards, is “Captain Phillips.” 
    While “Captain Phillips” tells the harrowing story of the 2009 pirate abduction of Captain Richard Phillips, it's not a great movie. Tom Hanks plays the title character very well, but again, he's Tom Hanks. We know the man is talented and can carry a movie. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: The Spectacular Now

    “The Spectacular Now” is the best coming-of-age high school movie I have seen since “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: August: Osage County

    If the holiday season makes you wonder about your family, “August: Osage County” will help put your mind at ease, with the reality that things can always be worse. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: 12 Years a Slave

    Chiwetel Ejiofor deserves a nod for best actor in the film “12 Years A Slave.” This is an outstanding movie that has definitely earned the acclaim it has received. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Lee Daniels' The Butler

    I didn't like this movie. It's one of those that falls victim to overestimating its own importance and storytelling quality. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Philomena

    Dark secrets of an Irish Catholic home for girls are exposed in this film, based on a true story. 

    December 26, 2013

Features
AP Video
New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US Companies Ramp Up Wellness to Lower Health Costs Raw: Pres. Obama Visits Japan's Imperial Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Attempts Comeback Bashtag: NYPD Twitter Campaign Backfires Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Air Force: $4.2B Saved From Grounding A-10s Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should more time and money be invested in Knoxville's City Parks?

Yes
No
     View Results