Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

Opinion
  • Movie Review: The Spectacular Now

    “The Spectacular Now” is the best coming-of-age high school movie I have seen since “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: August: Osage County

    If the holiday season makes you wonder about your family, “August: Osage County” will help put your mind at ease, with the reality that things can always be worse. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: 12 Years a Slave

    Chiwetel Ejiofor deserves a nod for best actor in the film “12 Years A Slave.” This is an outstanding movie that has definitely earned the acclaim it has received. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Lee Daniels' The Butler

    I didn't like this movie. It's one of those that falls victim to overestimating its own importance and storytelling quality. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Philomena

    Dark secrets of an Irish Catholic home for girls are exposed in this film, based on a true story. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Inside Llewyn Davis

    Early 1960s folk singer Llewyn Davis is talented, but homeless and down on his luck since losing the singing partner he had when his career had real success. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Dallas Buyers Club

    I can't really recommend “Dallas Buyers Club,” the tale of one man's struggles in the early days of the AIDS epidemic, because it's a little too formulaic. However, that's not to say that the film is not without its strong points. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Nebraska

    “Nebraska” is one of the funniest movies I have seen all year. You will not be disappointed by this film and I highly recommend seeing it as soon as you can. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: All is Lost

    This is the first movie I can remember that literally has a cast of a single person. Fortunately for this film, that single person is the legendary Robert Redford, and, as my college film professor once told me, “The camera loves Redford.” It still does, even at the actor's advanced age. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Lone Survivor

    I am not exaggerating in any way when I say that I believe everyone should see this film. It is that good and tells that important of a story. 

    December 26, 2013

Features
AP Video
Raw: Easter Morning Delivery for Space Station Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Obama: 8 Million Healthcare Signups Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Which service of the Knoxville Chamber of Commerce do you believe is most beneficial for its membership?

Events
Legislative lobbying
Promotional material publication
Educational programs for the community
Other
     View Results