Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

Opinion
  • Movie Review: 12 Years a Slave

    Chiwetel Ejiofor deserves a nod for best actor in the film “12 Years A Slave.” This is an outstanding movie that has definitely earned the acclaim it has received. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Lee Daniels' The Butler

    I didn't like this movie. It's one of those that falls victim to overestimating its own importance and storytelling quality. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Philomena

    Dark secrets of an Irish Catholic home for girls are exposed in this film, based on a true story. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Inside Llewyn Davis

    Early 1960s folk singer Llewyn Davis is talented, but homeless and down on his luck since losing the singing partner he had when his career had real success. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Dallas Buyers Club

    I can't really recommend “Dallas Buyers Club,” the tale of one man's struggles in the early days of the AIDS epidemic, because it's a little too formulaic. However, that's not to say that the film is not without its strong points. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Nebraska

    “Nebraska” is one of the funniest movies I have seen all year. You will not be disappointed by this film and I highly recommend seeing it as soon as you can. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: All is Lost

    This is the first movie I can remember that literally has a cast of a single person. Fortunately for this film, that single person is the legendary Robert Redford, and, as my college film professor once told me, “The camera loves Redford.” It still does, even at the actor's advanced age. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Lone Survivor

    I am not exaggerating in any way when I say that I believe everyone should see this film. It is that good and tells that important of a story. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Kids say the darnedest … If you're ever around kids for any extended period of time - or even a not so extended period of time - you'll observe firsthand they come up with some interesting, unique, hysterical and brutally honest observations about the world as they perceive

    December 5, 2013

  • Five steps for a quick trip down the aisle As chief dietary consultant and food preparation specialist in my domicile, I am responsible for the procurement of foodstuffs and other assorted provisions to ensure continuous familial sustenance within our humble abode. In other words, I do the gr

    November 14, 2013

Features
AP Video
Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Fish Oil Plant Blast Kills One Two Huge Fires Burning in Northern California Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Suspect Dead, Marshals and Cop Wounded in NYC Judge OKs Record-setting $2B Sale of Clipper Arts, Humanities Awards Handed Out at WH Former Va. Governor's Corruption Trial Begins Trial Begins Over OKC Bombing Video $15B Deal on Vets' Health Care Reached Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. Maine Police Investigate Deaths of Family of 5 UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results