Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

Opinion
  • Movie Review: Nebraska

    “Nebraska” is one of the funniest movies I have seen all year. You will not be disappointed by this film and I highly recommend seeing it as soon as you can. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: All is Lost

    This is the first movie I can remember that literally has a cast of a single person. Fortunately for this film, that single person is the legendary Robert Redford, and, as my college film professor once told me, “The camera loves Redford.” It still does, even at the actor's advanced age. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Movie Review: Lone Survivor

    I am not exaggerating in any way when I say that I believe everyone should see this film. It is that good and tells that important of a story. 

    December 26, 2013

  • Kids say the darnedest … If you're ever around kids for any extended period of time - or even a not so extended period of time - you'll observe firsthand they come up with some interesting, unique, hysterical and brutally honest observations about the world as they perceive

    December 5, 2013

  • Five steps for a quick trip down the aisle As chief dietary consultant and food preparation specialist in my domicile, I am responsible for the procurement of foodstuffs and other assorted provisions to ensure continuous familial sustenance within our humble abode. In other words, I do the gr

    November 14, 2013

  • Steve mug Why have a campaign? Bruce Braley will be our next US Senator and I'll tell you why. This does not please me, because upon reading about Braley, there are many differences between his values and mine. Nevertheless, I have complete and total confidence in his victory. We

    November 7, 2013 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor To the Editor: It would seem all too often public workers and administrators are considered ineffective and not willing to work with people on a variety of subjects. At least in regard to the Kiwanis Miracle Playground project at Young's Park, just

    November 7, 2013

  • Becoming a breadwinner -- in my own kind of way at least I've never been much of a breadwinner. Heck, I'm not much of a bread baker, and possess neither the mixing nor measuring skills required to take home any ribbons from any country fair. My youngest son, however, thinks otherwise. In his eyes, I am not

    November 7, 2013

  • Letter to the Editor-Jay Bender

    November 1, 2013

  • Letter to the Editor-Bill McCroskey

    November 1, 2013

Features
AP Video
Raw: Obama Gets Hug From Special Olympian US, UN Announce Deal on Gaza Cease-Fire Despite Moratorium, Detroit Water Worries Remain Faith Leaders Arrested at DC Deportation Protest Family Dispute Cripples Northeast Grocery Chain CDC Warns Travelers Amid Ebola Outbreak US Stocks Plunge, Wiping Out July's Gains Demoted Worker Shoots CEO, Kills Self Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit Raw: 2 Hurt in NY Trench Collapse House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Visitors Feel Part of the Pack at Wolf Preserve 3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Suing Obama: GOP-led House Gives the Go-ahead Obama: 'Blood of Africa Runs Through My Veins' Amid Drought, UCLA Sees Only Water
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results