Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

Opinion

Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor-Brent Hanna

    November 1, 2013

  • In Good Taste pic Keep popping with pick up sticks Popcorn is a whole grain, making it a good-for-you food and since it is promoted by organizations such as the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the American Dental Association (ADA) and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (A.N.D.), there's no doubt

    October 31, 2013 1 Photo

  • Another View Charlotte mug Another View
    Have any of you visited McDonald’s or Walmart recently?  Was the person who waited on you working?  
    My visits to those places have shown me people who worked hard, usually fast, to meet my needs.  And yet, most of their jobs pay lousy wages and provide low – or no – benefits.  They are at the lowest end of the income group that makes up 99 percent of us, while most of the money stays with the 1 percent on top.

    October 18, 2013 1 Photo

  • Steve mug In the House of Wood

    Following this latest showdown/crisis/debacle, whatever you want to call it, in Washington, it has become apparent to me that government is one big high school. 

    October 18, 2013 1 Photo

  • Slices of Life: Coming clean in my house By Jill Pertler Last weekend I came out of the closet - with an armload that included an old Christmas sweater, two pairs of mom jeans and a maternity top from 1997. I'd been aware of the need for an organize-the-closet day, but had been avoiding the

    October 17, 2013

  • Steve mug In the House of Wood

    The United States government has shut down, but yet, the sun came up, the seas still roared and Social Security checks were still issued. I'm sure some of you will think that I will take advantage of this opportunity to beat up on the Democrats, as

    October 3, 2013 1 Photo

  • Slices of Life: The Mower Fix My husband went out to mow the lawn last week. The good news: he came back. The bad news: he came back after cutting only half of the back yard. He entered the kitchen with an announcement. "Mower's broken," he said. "Not again," I said, feeling like

    October 3, 2013

  • No Headline Provided To the Editor: My wife and I are writing to express our appreciation for the wonderful visit we recently made to Knoxville and Pella. We came to Marion County to visit the birthplace of my grandfather and the grave sites of my great-great grandparen

    October 3, 2013

  • In the House of Wood

    I had the best weekend I have had in very long time last weekend. 

    September 20, 2013

  • Slices of Life: Out with old, in with new This week I said goodbye to an old friend and our parting was bittersweet. We'd spent nearly every day together for more than seven years. Lately, however, he just hadn't been reliable. It was getting so I couldn't count on him to be there when I nee

    September 19, 2013

Features
AP Video
Family Dispute Cripples Northeast Grocery Chain CDC Warns Travelers Amid Ebola Outbreak US Stocks Plunge, Wiping Out July's Gains Demoted Worker Shoots CEO, Kills Self Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit Raw: 2 Hurt in NY Trench Collapse House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Visitors Feel Part of the Pack at Wolf Preserve 3 People Killed, Deputies Wounded in NC Shootout Suing Obama: GOP-led House Gives the Go-ahead Obama: 'Blood of Africa Runs Through My Veins' Amid Drought, UCLA Sees Only Water Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Air Force: Stowaway Triggers Security Review Minnesota Fire Engulfs Home, Two Garages
Facebook
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Upon completion and reopening of Third Street, should the City of Knoxville wait to start the next stage of the Streetscape and Infrastructure project until 2015?

Yes
No
     View Results