Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

August 3, 2012

Two from Marion County on STEM councils

Steve Woodhouse

Knoxville — Cheryl Carruthers of Bussey and Lowell Ernst of Pella have been named to Gov. Terry Branstad's STEM Advisory Councils. 


This is the first major initiative of the new Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, a public-private partnership whose overarching goal is creating greater student achievement in STEM subjects and a stronger STEM workforce. Each STEM network hub will work with business, education institutions, nonprofit groups and others in their region in a way that best fits local needs, interests and resources.


The six hubs are:


Northwest hub – Iowa Lakes Community College

Northeast hub – University of Northern Iowa

North central hub – Iowa State University

Southwest hub – Southwestern Community College

Southeast hub  – University of Iowa & Kirkwood Community College

South central hub  – Drake University

The six regional network hubs are the first major initiative of the new Governor’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Math Advisory Council, a public-private partnership, whose overarching goal is to boost student achievement in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education and promote STEM economic development.

Carruthers will serve at the north central hub. She is currently a librarian, working for AEA 267 in Marshalltown. She is eager to see how libraries can contribute to the State's goal. 

"I hope I can make some kind of difference," Carruthers told the Journal-Express. She is unsure of what the task will entail, but is willing to share her experiences with us at a later date. 

Ernst will serve at the south central hub. He could not be reached for comment.