Journal Express, Knoxville, IA

August 7, 2012

Larson takes lead in Speed Week Points


Knoxville —  

Following seven mains in five nights, versatile and talented Kyle Larson of Elk Grove, California, has taken the lead in the 2012 Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Iowa Speed Week points.  Kyle won Monday night’s United States Auto Club (USAC) Ultimate Challenge preliminary main for non-winged sprint cars and finished third in the All Star Circuit of Champions (ASCoC) Front Row Challenge for winged 410-cubic-inch sprint cars at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa.  Night number six of ten straight nights of sprint car racing is Tuesday night at Oskaloosa with the USAC Ultimate Challenge and a full program for the winged ‘305’ sprint cars.
The unofficial top sixteen in the 2012 Cox Design Iowa Speed Week points after seven mains in five nights is as follows:  1., Kyle Larson, 187 points; 2., Brian Brown, 185 points; 3.,  Tim Kaeding, 183 points; 4., Brady Bacon, 167 points; 5., Brad Sweet, 152 points; 6., Tim Shaffer, 141 points; 7., Danny Lasoski, 136 points; 8., Shane Stewart, 135 points; 9., Jason Johnson, 124 points; 10., Kaley Gharst, 121 points; 11., Brooke Tatnell, 120 points; 12., Paul McMahan, 119 points; 13., Wayne Johnson, 114 points; 14., Daryn Pittman, 110 points; 15., Rager Phillips, 109 points; 16., Kevin Swindell, 107 points.
The Cox Design & Metal Fabrication Iowa Speedweek includes ten straight nights of sprint car racing between Knoxville Raceway and the Southern Iowa Speedway.  The top three places pay $2,500, $1,000, and $500, respectively, with the winner declared the Jesse Hockett “Mr. Sprint Car” titlist.  Past “Mr. Sprint Car” titlists include Ricky Logan (2002) of Arkansas, Shane Stewart (2003, ’04) of Oklahoma, Billy Alley (2005) of Nebraska, Jason Johnson (2006) of Louisiana, Wayne Johnson (2007, ‘08) of Oklahoma, Terry McCarl (2009) of Iowa, and Sammy Swindell (2010, ‘11) of Tennessee.