Knoxville City Council is gaining three new faces following Tuesday’s recently combined city and school elections.

John Gotta, Jyl DeJong and Justin Plum are the newest city council members, according to the unofficial results.

Gotta received 810 votes, the most of any candidate. He has been serving as an interim city council member since August, following the resignation of former council member Cal Stephens.

“It feels good,” Gotta said of being elected onto the city council. “I want to thank all the folks who voted for me and I certainly hope to hold up my end of the bargain and keep Knoxville moving in the direction we’re headed.”

DeJong received 592 votes, while Plum received 460. Both DeJong and Plum are new members of the council.

“I’m very honored that the citizens of Knoxville voted me in,” Plum said. “I’m most excited about getting in there and learning my role, but also helping move us in the right direction that we’re going.”

Candidates Jerrold Jordan and Mike Conner Jr. did not win their bids for election, receiving 425 and 176 votes each.

Scott Ziller, whose name appeared on the ballot but asked to be removed from contention, received 295 votes.

There were 10 write-in votes.

Brian Hatch will also serve another term as Knoxville’s mayor. Hatch ran uncontested and received 986 votes. 22 write-in votes were cast.

Incumbent city council members Rick Kingery and James Lane did not run for re-election.

Results from election night are considered unofficial until audited and approved, although totals typically stay the same or nearly the same.

Emma Skahill can be reached at or by calling the newsroom at 641-842-2155.

Recommended for you