Candidates have filed their paperwork for school board elections in the upcoming election cycle, set for November 5.

In Knoxville, five candidates are running for three open seats. Incumbent school board member Larissa Van Donselaar is up for reelection. Also running for open seats are Billy Burkhart, Cherie Gerdes, Ann Fields and Dave Smith. Current school board president Andrew Schmidt and board member Vickie Reed are not seeking reelection.

Pleasantville has four candidates running for three seats this election cycle. Incumbent board members seeking reelection are Mark Core and Josh Cook. They are joined on the ballot by new candidates Carol Beier and Michelle Greene. Long-time school board president Troy Padellford is not seeking reelection.

Melcher-Dallas has four candidates running for three available seats. Incumbent board member Robert Lepley is running for reelection. He is challenged by David Tickle, Seth Williams and Johnny Milburn. Curren school board members Jake Mathes and Christine Williams are not seeking reelection.

Twin Cedars has three candidates vying for three open seats. Incumbent board member Kelly Carlson is seeking reelection. Carlson is joined on the ballot by Jolinda Fairchild and Mike Weldon.

Fairchild is running for the seat of former board member Ashlee Carlson, who resigned in June. Fairchild was appointed to serve on the school board from June through the November election. Weldon is running for the seat of current board member Paul Haselhuhn, who is not seeking reelection.

Those elected to school board positions will serve four-year terms.

Emma Skahill can be reached at or by calling the newsroom at 641-842-2155.

Recommended for you