Mayor, New Council

John Gotta, Jyl DeJong and Justin Plum were sworn in as new Knoxville city council members on Jan. 6. Brian Hatch was sworn in as mayor.

Three city council members, the mayor and a new police officer were all sworn in at Monday’s city council meeting.

Mayor Brian Hatch and council members Jyl DeJong, John Gotta and Justin Plum all took the Oath of Office before officially calling the Jan. 6 meeting to order. Hatch will serve a two-year term as mayor, while the council members are beginning four-year terms.

DeJong and Plum are new faces to the council. Gotta, although winning his first election in November, has previously been filling a vacant council seat since August. The new council members join returning council members Dylan Morse and Megan Suhr.

In addition to swearing in the new council members, a new Knoxville police officer also joined the force during the meeting. Officer Cody Nichol was sworn in, making him the newest addition to the KPD.

Nichol is a 2014 graduate of Chariton High School, and has been serving as reserve officer with KPD since 2016. Since becoming a reserve officer, Nichol has put in over 500 hours volunteering for the city.

Nichol recently started the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy. Upon his completion at the academy, he will return to Knoxville for his field training. He is filling one of two vacant positions at KPD.

In other news:

• The council approved an easement that will allow the creation of a right-turn lane onto Weiler Drive from Highway 14. The turning lane is being created in conjunction with Highway 14 resurfacing project.

Emma Skahill can be reached at or by calling the newsroom at 641-842-2155.

Recommended for you