DES MOINES — The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced the 2020 boys basketball all-state teams on Tuesday. The teams were selected by print sports writers in Iowa during a meeting on Sunday.

Norwalk’s Bowen Born was named Mr. Basketball. Born led the Norwalk Warriors to their first team state championship in Class 3A.

Born is headed to the University of Northern Iowa on a full-ride scholarship. He was 17 points shy of scoring 1,000 points in his senior season alone, scoring an average 36.4 points per game.

The 5-foot-11 guard was sixth on the Iowa High School boys basketball all-time career scoring list. Norwalk was 79-23 during his four-year career.

He is a three-time all-Little Hawkeye Conference first teamer. Norwalk won three league titles under his leadership. He was the Class 3A Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Year in 2018-19.

Knoxville junior Kieren Nichols earned a spot on the Class 3A All-State first-team unit by averaging 25.9 points per game while playing in the South Central Conference.

Pella senior Logan Shetterly was a second-team Class 3A all-state selection. Shetterly averaged just shy of 20 points per game while leading the Dutch to a berth at the State Tournament in Des Moines.

In Class 2A, the Pella Christian Eagles weren’t shutout of all-state honors as a pair of seniors, Josh Van Gorp and Dan Jungling each were third-team all-state picks on the IPSWA list. The Eagles finished their season at the State Meet in Des Moines.

For the listing of players on the 2020 all-state list in classes 4A, 3A, 2A and 1A go to the IPSWA website at

Recommended for you