It is time for football teams in Iowa to be grouped together for new district purposes this fall.

Normally it’s a two-year affair, but for 2020 it will be for just one season as the state looks deeper into whether to add more teams into the playoffs and whether or not the regular season gets reduced to an 8-game affair.

Schedules for high school football teams should be released in the near future, but at this time the new districts include the following for teams in Marion County.

Class 3A

In Class 3A, the Knoxville Panthers and Pella High Dutch are in District 7 for 2020. Teams in the district with them include Bondurant-Farrar, Carlisle, Nevada and North Polk.

Nevada is moving up a lass after playing 2A football in 2019 where they were 7-2 overall.

Pella and Carlisle were both playoff teams in 2019. The Dutch finished 8-3 with a first round playoff win over Independence 24-6 at home before falling to Solon 24-0 on the road in the second round.

Knoxville finished at 6-3 in 2019. It was the Panthers first six win season since 2005.

A total of 54 teams have been assigned to Class 3A as is the case in Class 1A.

Class 1A

Speaking of 1A, the Pella Christian Eagles and the Pleasantville Trojans are in District 7.

They will face others in the district, which include Central Decatur, Leon; Colfax-Mingo, Interstate-35, Truro and Mount Ayr.

Central Decatur is moving up a class from A ball a year ago where they went 5-5 and made the playoffs.

Mount Ayr and Pella Christian are other playoff teams from a year ago in the district.

The only team in Class 1A District 7 with a losing mark from 2029 is Colfax-Mingo at 3-6.

Pella Christian finished the season at 5-5 after they recovered from an 0-4 start. The playoff loss was to the Van Meter Bulldogs.

The Pleasantville Trojans were 5-4 a year ago.


The 8-Man Football Districts consist of 68 teams.

A few of the districts have eight teams while others consist of nine teams.

For those with nine teams, only one non-district game will be assigned. The teams with eight in a district will have two non-district contests in 2020.

Twin Cedars has been assigned to District 4. The teams in the district include English Valley, Lone Tree, Montezuma, Moravia, New London, Tri-County, WACO and Winfield-Mount Union.

New London was a playoff team last year with a 7-3 record.

In addition to New London, Lone Tree and Montezuma each had winning marks last year.

Melcher-Dallas is in District 6 with Grand View Christian, Lamoni, Martensdale-St. Mary’s, Mormon Trail, Murray, Seymour and S.E. Warren.

Lamoni returns as the lone playoff team from 2019 in the district.

Lamoni, Martensdale-St. Mary’s and S.E. Warren all had winning marks a year ago.

Melcher-Dallas was 2-7 last year while the Twin Cedars Sabers were 1-9.

Perry Bell can be reached at or by calling the newsroom at 641-842-2155.

Recommended for you