Koby Gordon

Koby Gordon, one of 11 seniors on the Panther wrestling team managed a win over Pleasantville’s Ross Stephens, pictured above.

Knoxville hosted Pleasantville, Martensdale-St. Mary’s and Carlisle for wrestling action Tuesday, Feb. 4.

It was Senior Night in Knoxville as 10 senior wrestlers and managers were recognized.

Knoxville topped Pleasantville 62-18 in varsity action and they beat the Blue Devils from Martensdale-St. Mary’s 48-36. KHS came up short against a talented Carlisle squad 50-30.

In the Pleasantville contest each team gave up three forfeits. Knoxville won the other eight varsity matches, with pins by Nash Linsley, Gavin Montalvo, Jared Landsperger, Wyatt Darnell, Gabe Koby Gordon.

Winning by decision for Knoxville were JJ Beaver 5-2 and Jax Bellon by technical fall (16-0).

Against the Carlisle Wildcats the Panthers had five wins, all were pins. Earning falls for Knoxville were Marco Alejo, Luke Spaur, Gabe Gordon, Beaver and Bellon.

In the win over the Blue Devils each team picked up three forfeits.

In addition to the forfeits, the Panthers had pins from Koby Gordon, Bellon, Linsley, Spaur and Gabe Gordon.

Knoxville will host a Class 2A District Meet Saturday, Feb. 15 starting at noon.

Carlisle 50, Knoxville 30160 Bryce Murray (C) over Nash Linsley (K) (Fall 2:51)

170 Joshua Hemsted (C) over Gavin Montalvo (K) (Fall 3:41)

182 Nolan Pagel (C) over Jared Landsperger (K) (SV1 86)

195 Gabe Hemsted (C) over Wyatt Darnell (K) (TF 150 2:08)

220 Nathan McCormick (C) over Steven Metcalf (K) (Fall 0:09)

285 Jason Cooper (C) won by forfeit

106 Pierce Findlay (C) won by forfeit

113 Marco Alejo (K) over Brady Birkenholtz (C) (Fall 0:26)

120 Luke Spaur (K) over Jes Krcil (C) (Fall 3:35)

126 Gabe Gordon (K) over Will Emmons (C) (Fall 1:49)

132 Peter Comer (C) over Hayden Hatch (K) (Fall 0:30)

138 JJ Beaver (K) over Gage Uhlman (C) (Fall 0:58)

145 Tyler Brown (C) over Koby Gordon (K) (Fall 0:33)

152 Jax Bellon (K) over Archer Ogbourne (C) (Fall 3:10)

Knoxville 48, Martensdale-St. Mary’s 36145 Koby Gordon (K) over Brandon McNew (M) (Fall 0:33)

152 Jax Bellon (K) over Devin Schall (M) (Fall 1:02)

160 Nash Linsley (K) over Grant Ballard (M) (Fall 0:27)

170 Gavin Montalvo (K) won by forfeit

182 Jared Landsperger (K) won by forfeit

195 Sean Miklus (M) over Wyatt Darnell (K) (Fall 3:02)

220 Dylan Morgan (M) over Steven Metcalf (K) (Fall 0:44)

285 Alan Allsup (M) won by forfeit

106 Eric Reines Schmidt (M) won by forfeit

113 Marco Alejo (K) won by forfeit

120 Luke Spaur (K) over Julian Huston (M) (Fall 0:25)

126 Cael Cassady (M) won by forfeit

132 Gabe Gordon (K) over Johnnie Cassady (M) (Fall 1:04)

138 Cole Cassady (M) over JJ Beaver (K) (Fall 3:44)

Knoxville 62, Pleasantville 18152 Jax Bellon (K) over Jacob Hiemstra (P) (TF 16-0 3:49)

160 Nash Linsley (K) over Dillen Ammons (P) (Fall 0:37)

170 Gavin Montalvo (K) over Isaac Mann (P) (Fall 0:25)

182 Jared Landsperger (K) over Michael McGriff (P) (Fall 0:56)

195 Wyatt Darnell (K) over Alex Swanson (P) (Fall 1:20)

220 Alex Sampson (P) won by forfeit

285 Matthew Kauffman (P) won by forfeit

106 Devon Luing (P) won by forfeit

113 Marco Alejo (K) won by forfeit

120 Luke Spaur (K) won by forfeit

126 Gabe Gordon (K) over Trevor Nickel (P) (Fall 1:40)

132 Hayden Hatch (K) won by forfeit

138 JJ Beaver (K) over Kitt Lundy (P) (Dec 5-2)

145 Koby Gordon (K) over Ross Stephens (P) (Fall 1:32)

138 Exhibition: Brynn Miller (P) over Faith Hatch (K) (Fall 0:36)

Perry Bell can be reached at sports@journalexpress.net or by calling the newsroom at 641-842-2155.

Recommended for you