Kerry Madsen

Bill Wright (left), presents Kerry Madsen with first place bonus money for winning the Midwest Thunder racing title.

The championship for the Midwest Thunder Sprint Series presented by came down to the last event!

A restart pass at the Jason Johnson Classic at Lake Ozark Speedway near Eldon, Missouri, gave Kerry Madsen the narrow edge over Bill Balog. The two drivers finished eleventh and twelfth, respectively, and were the top non-World of Outlaws platinum members.

The finish gave Madsen a seven point advantage over Balog for his third straight title with the Midwest Thunder Sprint Series.

Madsen took $2,000 for first place, while Balog went home with $1,000. Brian Brown held off Terry McCarl by 18 points for the third place prize and $550.

James McFadden was fifth in the final standings, and Austin McCarl, Parker Price-Miller, Jeremy Schultz, Paul Nienhiser and Rico Abreu rounded out the top ten this year.

Allan Holland of, race fans Jim Harris and Gregg Anderson,, The Podium Awards of Newport, Pennsylvania, and anonymous donors contributed to this year’s point fund.

Over 180 drivers earned points this season (up over 40 from 2018 despite all the weather issues), and there were 26 different winners in the 67 features contested.

Recommended for you